The Chiu-Ying Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Chiu-Ying Forum

The Wing Chun / Wing Tsun / Ving Tsun / Discussion Forum

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
kadar

Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing Empty
PostSubject: Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing   Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing EmptyTue Feb 03, 2009 3:44 am

I am new to Wing Chun but I am continuously practicing wing chun blocking against other styles. I found it very difficult to block sanshou punches as they are very fast and the punching had return to its original stance in split seconds. And its hard to get close to the because they will grapple you to the ground. Is there any specific practising that I need to do in order to effectively block sanshou offense. Cheers
Back to top Go down
Chi Man

PostSubject: Re: Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing   Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing EmptyThu Feb 05, 2009 9:17 am

Hey Kadar

I'd say I would try and develop my Chi Soa game some more to try to deal with the fast punches.

As for your buddy shooting in, have you tried the sprawl? Maybe its not Wing Chun but hey if it works dude use it Twisted Evil

Chi
Back to top Go down
Jin-Ka
Admin

PostSubject: Re: Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing   Wing Chun defence against sanshou and boxing EmptySat Feb 07, 2009 12:19 pm

Hi Kadar,

I would perhaps experiment with my Stance to begin with, Is your Weight distribution on the Rear Leg to begin with?